PCT vs CNA: Differences in Training, Pay, and Career Path
PCTs have broader clinical scope (phlebotomy, EKG, glucose) than CNAs. Here’s how to choose the right starting credential.

PCT vs CNA is one of the most-asked questions among new healthcare students — and a real source of confusion because the roles look similar from the outside but have meaningfully different scope, training, and pay. The short version: a CNA is a state-licensed nursing assistant focused on activities of daily living and basic vital signs. A PCT is a nationally-certified patient care technician trained to do everything a CNA does plus phlebotomy, EKG, glucose monitoring, and broader procedural assist.
PCTs often earn more than CNAs in hospital and dialysis settings, work primarily in hospitals, and have a clearer ladder to nursing school or specialty roles.

This post breaks down the differences across training, certification, scope of practice, settings, pay, and career paths — then helps you decide which path fits if you’re choosing your first healthcare credential.
Want a faster path to your CPCT?
Earn your NHA CPCT in 8 weeks online — patient care, EKG, phlebotomy, and EHR. NHA exam fee, externship, and 6 practice tests included. Military spouses: SpouseWorks Scholarship (formerly MyCAA) funding may apply; confirm eligibility first.
PCT vs CNA: At a Glance — Patient Care Technician Vs Cna
| PCT | CNA | |
|---|---|---|
| Title | Patient Care Technician | Certified Nursing Assistant |
| Certification | National (NHA CPCT/A most common) | State-issued (each state has its own registry) |
| Training length | 8 weeks online + clinical externship | 4-12 weeks state-approved program |
| Training hours required | 75-150 hours typical | State minimum: 75 hours federal, many require 100-180 |
| Phlebotomy? | Yes | No |
| EKG? | Yes | No |
| Glucose monitoring? | Yes | No (CNAs in some states; varies) |
| Specimen collection? | Yes | Limited |
| Patient ADL support? | Yes | Yes (primary focus) |
| Vital signs? | Yes | Yes |
| Typical setting | Hospital, dialysis | Long-term care, hospital, home health |
| Median pay | Not reported separately by BLS $42,260/year | (nursing assistants, BLS May 2025) |
| Pay range | Not reported separately by BLS | $33,940-$51,980 (10th to 90th percentile) |
| National recognition | Same credential works anywhere | State-by-state — moving may require recertification |
Scope of Practice — The Real Difference
Both PCTs and CNAs work under RN supervision and don’t administer medications (except specific protocols). But the procedures each is trained to perform diverge meaningfully:
What CNAs do (and do well)
- Bathing, dressing, toileting, and feeding patients
- Mobility support — repositioning, transfers, ambulation
- Basic vital signs (BP, pulse, temp, respiratory rate)
- Patient safety monitoring
- Communication with the supervising RN
- Documentation in the EHR
- Skin care and pressure ulcer prevention
What PCTs do (CNA scope plus more)
- Everything CNAs do, AND:
- Phlebotomy / venipuncture
- 12-lead EKG placement
- Bedside glucose monitoring (fingerstick)
- Specimen collection (urine, stool, sputum)
- Wound care assist
- Setting up rooms and equipment for procedures
- Transport to imaging or procedures
The PCT scope reflects the role’s hospital origins — most U.S. hospital systems created the PCT title in the late 1990s and 2000s specifically because they needed a more clinically-trained level between CNA and LPN.
Where They Work
CNA settings (most common)
- Skilled nursing facilities (SNFs) and nursing homes — the largest CNA employer category nationally. Lower pay, higher patient-to-CNA ratios, more ADL-focused work.
- Hospital med-surg floors — typically alongside or instead of PCTs, depending on system staffing model.
- Home health and assisted living — growing sector with flexible schedules.
- Hospice care — emotionally intense but meaningful work.
PCT settings (most common)
- Hospital inpatient floors (med-surg, telemetry) — the largest PCT employer category.
- Dialysis clinics — specialized PCT role (often called CHT or CCHT) with dialysis-machine training.
- Hospital ICU and ER — usually requires 1-2 years of floor PCT experience first.
- Outpatient clinics — sometimes PCT-MA hybrid roles.
Pay Comparison
BLS does not track patient care technicians as a separate occupation; nursing assistants (31-1131), a comparison occupation only, had a national median of $42,260 per year ($20.32/hour) in May 2025. Patient care technician pay varies by employer and setting; compare local job postings for both roles.
Training Path
Becoming a CNA
- Find a state-approved CNA training program — usually 4-12 weeks at a community college, healthcare facility, or American Red Cross site.
- Complete state-required clinical hours (varies; federal minimum 16 hours, most states require 40-100).
- Pass the state CNA exam — written + skills demonstration components. State-specific.
- Get listed on the state nurse-aide registry. CNA licensure does not transfer automatically across states; moving usually requires re-listing or sometimes retraining.
Becoming a PCT
- Complete an accredited PCT training program — typically 8 weeks online with clinical externship (80-160 hours).
- Pass the NHA CPCT/A exam — 100 questions, 2 hours, scaled scoring 200-500 with 390 passing. BLS does not report patient care technician wages separately; nursing assistants had a national median of $42,260 in May 2025. Cost: $169 (NHA store).
- National certification — state and employer requirements vary.
For a deeper salary breakdown, see our patient care technician salary guide.
Career Path Differences
CNA → next steps
CNAs commonly move toward:
- PCT (with additional certification in phlebotomy and EKG)
- LPN/LVN — 12-15 month nursing program
- RN (associate’s) — 2-year program
- Medical assistant — with additional training and certification
PCT → next steps
PCTs commonly move toward:
- Specialty PCT (dialysis CHT, ICU PCT)
- CCMA — adds outpatient + admin scope
- LPN/LVN — same path as CNA, often faster because clinical exposure is broader
- RN — popular path; many hospital systems offer tuition support for PCT-to-RN transitions
- Surgical Tech (CST), Respiratory Therapist — both common 1-2 year programs
Which Should You Choose?
Choose CNA if:
- You want to start working in 4-12 weeks
- You’re targeting long-term care, home health, or hospice
- Your local labor market has more CNA openings than PCT (true in some rural states)
- You’re working toward LPN or RN and want the lowest-friction starting credential
Choose PCT if:
- You want to work primarily in hospitals or dialysis
- You want broader clinical scope and procedural skills (phlebotomy, EKG)
- You want a credential that transfers nationally
- You’re using the role as a stepping stone to nursing school or specialty tech roles
- You want to qualify for more roles
Ready to stop studying alone? HealthCerts’ Certified Patient Care Technician (CPCT) program is built around an 8-week online course with externship placement — so you walk out with both the credential and the clinical hours employers want.
The bottom line on patient care technician vs cna: choose the path that matches your real-world constraints — schedule, financial aid eligibility, and target employer — rather than the cheapest or fastest option in isolation. patient care technician vs cna outcomes vary meaningfully by program quality, so verify accreditation and externship support before enrolling.
Frequently Asked Questions
What’s the difference between a PCT and a CNA?
A PCT (Patient Care Technician) has broader clinical scope than a CNA (Certified Nursing Assistant) — including phlebotomy, EKG, and specimen collection. PCTs primarily work in hospitals; CNAs are concentrated in long-term care.
Do PCTs make more than CNAs?
It depends on the employer and setting; PCTs often earn more in hospital and dialysis roles.
Is PCT a better career than CNA?
For healthcare workers building toward hospital roles, dialysis, or nursing school, PCT is generally the better starting credential because of broader clinical scope, national transferability, and higher pay. CNA is a solid choice for long-term care or home health pathways.
Can a CNA become a PCT?
Yes — CNAs typically need additional training in phlebotomy, EKG, and clinical procedures (or a full PCT program) to qualify for the NHA CPCT/A exam. Many CNAs add PCT certification within their first 1-2 years to expand scope and pay.
Is the PCT exam harder than the CNA exam?
The NHA CPCT/A is broader — 100 questions across patient care, EKG, phlebotomy, and safety. State CNA exams are typically 60-70 questions plus a hands-on skills demonstration. NHA reported a 75.01% pass rate for the CPCT/A exam in 2025.
Which is faster to become — PCT or CNA?
CNA is typically faster (4-12 weeks). PCT programs are usually 8 weeks for coursework plus 4-6 weeks of clinical externship. If you need to start working as fast as possible, CNA wins; if you want broader scope, PCT is a slightly longer path.
Can a PCT work as a CNA?
Most state nurse-aide registries don’t automatically list PCTs — even though the PCT scope exceeds CNA scope, you usually need to register separately as a CNA. Many hospitals hire PCTs into CNA-titled roles where the work overlaps; check your state requirements.
Which is easier — being a PCT or a CNA?
CNA work is more physically demanding (more lifting, transfers, ADL support); PCT work has more procedural complexity (venipuncture, EKG, glucose monitoring, specimen handling). Most CNAs and PCTs report the workload is comparable on different axes.
Start Your CPCT Journey with HealthCerts
Reading about it is one thing — actually getting credentialed and into a clinical role is another. HealthCerts’ Certified Patient Care Technician (CPCT) program is the fastest, most-supported path: Earn your NHA CPCT in 8 weeks online — patient care, EKG, phlebotomy, and EHR. NHA exam fee, externship, and 6 practice tests included. Military spouses: SpouseWorks Scholarship (formerly MyCAA) funding may apply; confirm eligibility first.
See CPCT tuition, schedule, and what’s included →
Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025 (31-1131 Nursing Assistants, nearest BLS occupation); NHA 2025 Industry Outlook for the employer survey figure.

Shahnaz Ghassemi Ph.D., is a co-founder of HealthCareerCerts and a dedicated educator, scientist, and workforce development leader. She holds a Ph.D. in Chemistry and brings extensive experience as both an educator and a research scientist in industry. As a co-leader of HealthCareerCerts, Shahnaz is deeply committed to making healthcare education accessible through affordable, flexible, and high-quality learning pathways. She works closely with academic institutions, healthcare partners, and workforce organizations to deliver certification programs that are practical, inclusive, and directly aligned with real-world healthcare needs. Since co-founding the organization, she has played a key role in building strategic partnerships that expand impact and opportunity, helping learners across the country gain essential skills, confidence, and meaningful careers in healthcare. Seeing hundreds of students thrive within the supportive learning community she helps lead continues to inspire and drive her mission forward.



